Latrobe Council

A message from your mayor

Visitors should take the time to fully explore the beauty and diversity of the Latrobe Municipality, which includes the townships of Latrobe, Port Sorell, Shearwater, Hawley, Wesley Vale, Sassafras, Moriarty and Tarleton


Review of Council's Dog Management Policy - Feedback Welcomed

17 October 2017
Council's Dog Management Policy is due for review. Submissions can be sent in writing to Council prior to 30 November, 2017 to: The General Manager, PO Box 63 Latrobe TAS 7307


17 October 2017
With the weather warming, snakes are starting to get about. All snakes in Tasmania are venemous and should be treated with caution. The following informs on what you should do and, if a snake requires relocation, who to contact.


2 August 2017
Applications sought from youth in Grade 9 or 10 that live in the Latrobe Municipality to participate in the Tasmanian Youth Local Government forum on 1 October and the weekend of 14-15 October. Read on for more information ...

Resource Sharing

28 July 2017

Review of Port Sorell Strategic Plan

11 May 2017
After more than eight years of operation, Council has resolved to review the Port Sorell and Environs Strategic Plan 2008, which has been a valuable guide to development in the area since its adoption late in 2008. It is proposed to conduct this review in a consultative manner with stakeholder collaborative designing by the consultant engaged to progress the project.

Council Meetings

2016 Council Meeting dates

read more

Strategic Plans

Our Place, Our Plan is Latrobe Council's five year strategic framework

read more

Council Committees

Committee Representation

read more

Our Community

  • Information for new Residence
  • Chocolate Winterfest, Latrobe
  • Public Notices
  • Camp Banksia
  • School Holiday Program
Decrease font size Reset font size Increase font size

Contact Us

Council Address
PO Box 63
170 Gilbert Street
Latrobe Tasmania 7307
Opening Hours
Monday - Friday
8.00am - 4.30pm
Emergency After Hours: 03 6426 2653